Leaders are weird.

Vintage-Schwinn-315x851

“I’m all about keeping things the same as they’ve always been.  As long as everyone’s happy with me, I’m good.”

-Said no great leader. Ever.

Learning to be a leader hasn’t been an easy journey for me. I almost routinely encounter a new roadblock in my character that hinders me from being the influencer I know I was created to be. Recently, I’ve been tackling fear.

Let me explain. Do you remember the feeling you got in class when your teacher asked a question, to which you knew the answer, and no one raised their hand? You were certain that you’d get it right, but something in you kept the words tucked away. Fear.

Fear of standing out. Fear of being wrong. Fear of being judged as “nerdy.” Fear of being different.

Maybe it wasn’t in class, but I guarantee we’ve all felt this kind of fear. And to anyone aspiring to lead change in this world, it’s poison. If not corrected, it will lead to apathy, carelessness, and laziness.

A lukewarm leader.

I like to look at Jesus as the best example for leadership. He gets a skewed reputation as a flip-flop-wearing, pale white pushover. But the Jesus of the Bible is quite different. For example, in Mark 10:34, he tells his followers,  “Do not think that I came to bring peace on the earth; I did not come to bring peace, but a sword.” And later, in chapter 21, he flips over tables and drives the money-changers out of the temple. He wasn’t afraid of making a scene. Not out of pride or foolishness, but to wake people up! Leading change takes boldness and a little bit of creativity.

Don’t misunderstand me. I’m not impressed by people who are weird just for the sake of getting attention. But I think leaders who want to make a real difference should remember a few things:

1) You should embrace the idea of getting laughed at.

And even downright ridiculed. Sometimes to your face. Human nature rejects change. But don’t fret. Any change worth following should at least raise some eyebrows.

2) It’s never been cool to try.

Complacency is a pretty popular attitude. I mean, all it takes is keeping things exactly the way they are. But leaders worth following give everything they do their absolute best, forgetting the fear of failure.

3) What is fear, anyway?

It’s a lie about what hasn’t even happened yet. Tell it to shut up and sit down.

4) Leaders are inspiring.

And to be inspiring, you’ve got to be passionate about something enough to sacrifice some of your pride and comfort. (Otherwise, are you really leading people anywhere worth going?)

One final note: leading change doesn’t necessarily mean that you need to start a non-pofit. Yet. It could mean learning as much as you can about a skill that you know you need. It could mean stepping out and becoming a better friend, spouse, parent, etc. It doesn’t matter how big or small the step. Do it.

What are you passionate about? What change can you lead? Dive head-first into the difference you were called to make. We’ll all be better for it. (Or at least you’ll learn something).

Leave a comment