The most impressive thing I’ve seen this month.

Image

(Photo by Hannah Merritt)

I love my job. I get to see some pretty awesome things working at a church. And this past Sunday, I witnessed the most impressive thing I’ve seen all month.

Darrell Evans visited our church to do a special worship service. I’d never heard him play live before so I didn’t know what to expect. He’s impressive. This guy is responsible for the song, “I’m trading my sorrows,” that you would have heard in every American youth group in the 90’s. He’s still very influential in the contemporary worship movement, and I got to see why. Not only is he an incredible musician, his heart is so genuine and humble.

But that’s not the most impressive thing I saw.

When Darrell closed the service with his hit classic, it wasn’t the music that captivated my attention. It was a woman in our congregation. I looked over my shoulder just in time to catch her full response to the song. It started with her head back, eyes closed, and arms fully open. As she took a deep breath in, I wondered just how far she would take it. She let out a shout for joy similar to what you’d hear from a kid who just received their first bike on Christmas morning. I’m pretty sure it lasted a good five seconds. It was loud, and everyone around her noticed.

And it was impressive.

I watched as the people around her reacted to her childlike joy. Even though some were a bit uncomfortable at the sudden outburst, everyone who witnessed it caught a piece the woman’s joy. Some people started to sing louder, clap harder, and even laugh a little. I don’t blame them. It was inspiring. It was contagious.

Because passionate people can’t help but make an impact. This woman cared so much that she was willing to let God and everyone else around her know it. Witnessing how much her passion influenced her environment reminded me that leaders can influence just about anybody if we care enough to be uncomfortable, speak up and give our everything.

When we’re passionate about something, no one has to motivate us to do something about it. We’ll exceed other people’s expectations. And some people will even follow us.

So what are you passionate about?

What would you scream for joy in a crowded room for?

What makes you cry?

What makes you move?

I encourage you to give that some attention today. Maybe it’s your family. Maybe it’s a book you’d like to write. Maybe it’s a cause for social justice.

Choosing to share that passion could be the most important leadership decision we could ever make.

Leave a Reply

